Well, well, well.  Look who's back.
Oh, wrong point of view.  Well, glad to see you're back.

Sorry I didn't write yesterday, but there was this puzzle and it was 1500 pieces and it's all 3-D... and I'm sorry.

Truth is, I was going to make this post all special and long and super duper informative, but I'm stupid and closed my browser before I saved that super duper special post and this is my second time writing it.  With a headache.

So, yesterday I was a poop and slept until one o'clock.  Ugh, big mistake.  I had a headache and my face swelled back up some, but I toughed it out and didn't take any pain medication even though it's all in pill form now!  
I sat in the living room and read until dinner time when we had turkey and dressing (sans turkey for me) and candied sweet potatoes.  It was awesome, and since I didn't even have to chew any of it I was finished in less than an hour.  
After that I read some more.  I'm not kidding you, these Hunger Games books are a-may-zing.
I got tired of reading and moved on to that puzzle I mentioned.  I'm not gonna lie, I had fun.  Yeah, that's right.  I don't need you anymore!

I'm sorry, readers.  I lied; I do need you!  Come back!

Anyway, this morning was better because I got up and went to church, meaning I was out of bed by 9:30.  It was nice to see my friends and everybody, but I over did it.  They're all so funny, but funny's not good right now.  I took a preemptive lortab before we went, though, so it wasn't too bad.
My parents and I treated ourselves to Mexican food for lunch, which I was able to eat.  The chips were a little difficult, but i just let them sit in the cheese dip for a minute to soften them up and all was well.  My nacho cheese burrito was also very good, but I didn't quite finish it.  It really is amazing how much food doesn't really require any chewing.  The ground beef in the burrito was small enough to swallow and the tortilla was soft enough that it went down without any trouble.
When we returned home I realized just how pooped I was and sat down to work on my puzzle some more. By the time church time came around again it was raining and I was still tired so I just stayed home.  After my parents and brother left it really started storming and the power was becoming unreliable.  It kinda freaked me out.
After church was out my brother went to Burger King and I made the mistake of asking for a burger and fries.  I'm so dumb.  I hate Burger King.  It doesn't taste good and the food always makes me sick.  Always.  I just took some Advil for the headache it gave me.  So dumb.

That's all that's happened since my last post, so I guess I'll take this opportunity to tell you about my pain.

Most of the times I've talked about my pain on here, it's been pretty much nothing.  On a scale of 1-10, it's usually a two or a three.  Sometimes there's not even any pain, it just pressure.  The only thing that ever really hurts is when I smile or cry, and that's definitely a ten.  When I first started noticing the pain there, it was mostly on the right side and just kinda felt like my stitches were pulling.  Now the pain has switched to my left side and it goes all the way up the side of my nose.  I don't think anything is wrong, there must just be a sore nerve over there or something.  I'm not too worried about it and it seems to be the only thing that's in danger of bothering me.

I think my talking has greatly improved.  It's been a while since I've had to use my dry erase board here at home (and my dad hasn't needed to use any of the sign language I've taught him) but I know that could just be my parents getting used to the way I'm talking.  I talked to my sister the other night though.  She lives in Japan, so obviously it was via webcam, and I'm assuming that if I'm understandable through that, then I'm understandable in person.  I mostly just sound like I have a lisp now.  And I'm having trouble with p's and sh's.  For instance, the other day I tried to say "poo-poo" and my brother thought I said "foo-foo."
I don't know how the guy understood me today when I asked for a "na-ho cheeth burrito."  Speaking of which, the owner of the restaurant was talking to us and he said, "Did she have surgery?" *points to his mouth* "She's quieter today."  What can I say? I like to talk.

Um, what else...
Oh, well I still don't know if I can whistle.  Once the swelling in my lip goes down (hopefully I'll be able to feel it by then) I'll try it out.  My swelling is gone for the most part, but that pesky lip is still pretty big.  My cheeks, though, have pretty much deflated.  Sometimes when I sleep on them they puff up, but right now they're lookin' good.  I'm not sure about the areas right under my eyes, I can't feel them whatsoever, but they might be a little swollen still too.The swelling inside of my mouth has gone down too, I think.  At first, the places where my molars are at were swollen on either side to the point of almost choking me because I didn't have anywhere to put my tongue.  There are stitches on both sides of my mandible where I'm assuming the surgeon took my bone out.  Sometimes I get food in those.  Not fun.  The only other things that I'm aware are in my mouth are these spots at the very back and I can't even decide what they are.  They feel just like it would if I had bitten down on my cheek really hard, but they're not exactly in a spot where I could have bitten down on them.  I was thinking that maybe they were in a different place when I was still swollen, but I think I can feel stitches in them.  I'm not sure what they would have been doing at that spot in my mouth, but who knows?

I currently can't even lick my top teeth, but my talent of licking my nose looks like it won't return.
It's a small secession for a huge victory, as far as I'm concerned.

I'm still having nosebleeds every once a while, but they're small so no worries there.

Argh, I really can't think of anything else that might even slightly interest anybody.
I'll try my very hardest to come up with interesting writing material for tomorrow.
One positive thing, to close, is that I'm feeling like I can do anything with my hair now.  For the last couple of years, I've confined myself to one hairstyle because it balances my face well.  To do something really short would have shown off my underbite; to do something long only made my long face longer.  As a result, I've kept it right at my chin, never getting to my shoulders.  And forget doing anything with it besides leaving it down.  Putting my hair in a pony tail would defeat the purpose of the haircut and my hair hasn't been long enough to really do anything else with it.  What will I do now?  I can cut it short or I can grow it out.  I can put it in a ponytail or learn to braid it!  I have so many options now!!!
What do you think I should do?  Tell me in the comments!

Love you guys!
Picture
Picture
That's the farthest I can stick my tongue out, but at least it's looking clean again!
Picture
Look at that beautiful overbite!
Picture
We discovered today that I still look like good ol' Susan if you cover up the mouth.
Currently Reading: Catching Fire
Current Weight: 111.4 lbs
Current Task: EATING!
Dena Jones
6/26/2011 02:28:18 pm

Susan- It was so good to see you at church today! (I think I already said that to you in person a couple of times...but I meant it!!) I'm SO GLAD that you are feeling better. Maybe very soon (!!!) the pain and aggravation will be but a distant memory! Still love your blog! Mrs. Dena

Reply



Leave a Reply.