Well, technically, it's 15 days until my surgery, not 14, but I'm going out of town as soon as I post this and will not return to do my two week post.

As I mentioned in my last post, I'm still just counting down the days.
Nothing new has come up since last week either, so this is mostly just a post of my pre-surgery ramblings and come-aparts.*

*For those of you not from Alabama:  Come-apart-- hysterical fit of stress and frustration.

I actually managed to keep my thoughts off of the surgery last Friday through Monday by going on vacation with my parents to what is probably the most ghetto place I've ever been in my entire life.  I swear, nobody knew how to drive and there was this girl who announced--amongst other private details of her life-- "I GOTS TO PEE!" to all the lovely customers of Waffle House.  I was also wary when I saw that our hotel was right next to the funeral home and prison, but all was made well when I noticed our room had this lovely window seat in which I napped daily.
Picture
I was also distracted by endless hours shopping, bowling (which I of course lost at), and massive amounts of food, bordering on gluttony.
Just to touch on bowling, I will say that it's not that I'm a bad bowler per se, but more that my parents are unfairly good.  
By "unfairly" I mean that my mother is somehow good at everything, and that the sheer force with which my father throws the bowling ball knocks every single pin down no matter which ones he actually hits.  I, on the other hand, can only manage an eight pound ball-- usually switching to a seven once my elbow starts hurting-- and psych myself out by being hyper-analytical of every move I make.

When I was not eating or losing I spent most of my time sleeping in the magnificent aforementioned window seat, reading, or thinking about my surgery.  During my time spacing out I had these two thoughts: "I'm going to have a lot of time to read after this surgery" and "will I be able to whistle afterward?"

First--I'm going to have a lot of time to read after this surgery.
This is not a bad thing by any means--I love to read.  So I promptly went out and bought six books.  I've already finished two and my surgery isn't for another two weeks.  I finished reading What's Your St@tus?--a fluffy, vapid book that I can't believe I'm even admitting that I read-- and Teen Angst? Naaah...--a book of "essays" about the authors high school years.  If I only had the money to buy more...  
Right here, right now I'm making a goal to read twenty books this summer.  I think that sounds perfectly feasible with my surgery and since I'll have summer reading and a ridiculous amount of AP summer work as well, it might even be a challenge.

Second-- whistling.  I used to be able to whistle.  Maybe this talent will come back to me with the repositioning of my face.

Overall, I would say that I'm excited about my surgery.  Now that it's getting closer, though, I'm starting to worry a little.  I'm not anxious about the actual surgery at all, but the thought of being numb for weeks and weeks isn't really appealing to me.  I get really... claustrophobic, but not "small spaces" claustrophobic.  More like "I'm-freaking-out-because-I-don't-have-any-control-over-this-situation" claustrophobic.

And then there's the eating.  I'm so picky anyway, I don't know what I'm going to do on a restricted diet.  I generally don't eat meat because I don't like the way it tastes, so it looks like meaty, blended soups are out of the question.  I don't even like soup!  It's so, just-- I don't even know how to explain it.  The only soups I like are tomato and broccoli and cheese.  Oh, and clam chowder.  Maybe I can coerce my parents into taking me to Red Lobster all the time.  I also don't like smoothies.  Or mashed potatoes.
On top of all that, I'm stressing about weight loss.  Most people lose 10-20 pounds after their surgery.  I can't do that!  I don't want to look like this!  On the plus side, I did manage to gain four pounds with all the eating out we did this weekend.
I don't mean to complain, really I don't, but I seriously need to start looking into liquid diet recipes.

Next Tuesday is my pre-op appointment and when I get my surgical hooks put on my braces so I'll update you after everything is finished there.

Until next time!

Currently Reading:  The Spectacular Now
Current Weight:  121.6 lbs
Current Tasks:  Research liquid diets; make a list of questions to ask my surgeon.



Leave a Reply.